R&B/Soul Sundays: Toni Braxton & Amerie

It’s time to revive this WordPress again! I’ll be tweeting about music & art and my own works as well here. First off. I’ll start this revival with what I call R&B/Soul Sundays where I’ll write about two R&B albums I have been listening to recently every Sunday. So, let’s start off with an album from a very known R&B singer: 

f5dbe438dd3b7857755c434c153bca8d.640x640x1

The Heat – Toni Braxton © LaFace Records, 2000

I’m not the biggest fan of Toni Braxton’s vocal stylings (mainly because you can’t understand what she’s singing about for the most part -_- see: Maybe) but this album is a great balance between Toni’s sultry vocals and her being able to adapt to the more hip-hop/urban inspired R&B scene that time without losing focus. Of course, who can forget the Rodney Jerkins banger known as ‘He Wasn’t Man Enough’ ? That’s probably my most played song on the album, no lie. Toni was able to bring the heat (no pun intended) into this third album and it certainly did not disappoint (bar ‘Spanish Guitar’, but that’s a topic for another day).

Favorite Album Cuts: “Maybe”, “You’ve Been Wrong”, “Speaking in Tongues”

Overall Score: 7.5/10

1200x630bb

All I Have – Amerie © Columbia Records, 2002

Just one week ago I saw this album on Fully Booked and was very enticed by the soothing blues and warm reds of the cover. Unfortunately, the album was one of the most expensive there and I chose not to buy it (seeing as how I already had another album in mind when I went there). At first, I thought this album had cute instrumentals and vocals. But a few more listens and if I had to describe it one word, it would be “ethereal“. I always knew Amerie (or Ameriie) and Rich Harrison were a duo, but after listening to this album they truly had the perfect chemistry to create a signature sound. Amerie’s soft whispering vocals over Rich Harrison’s go-go fonky beats was an unusual combination, but hey it worked! If you’re ever in the mood for smooth and mellow music, just press play and let this album do the magic.

Favorite Album Cuts: “I Just Died”, “Float”, “Nothing Like Loving You”

Overall Score: 8/10

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

